Toast to My Twenties

turning 30As I sit drinking what may very well be my last beer in my twenties while I wait for my DIY hair color to set on the eve of my 30th birthday, I can’t help but be a little sad (okay maybe more than a little), a little nervous, and a wee bit anxious.

It  seemed so far away as I’ve been steadily marching toward 30, but now 30 is beating my door down. I spent most of my 20s doing what society expects you to do in your 20s. I was privileged to get to go to college, meet amazing people, get a dog, get a degree, get a husband (in that order). After marriage and graduating twice by the age of 26, I took the leap into homeownership with my hubby and there I sat at 27 with my to-do list for my twenties checked off. I didn’t really have a “to-do” list for my twenties, but if you know me you know I love lists and organization and having everything in writing so I can proudly check it off. I’m the person you see in the grocery store with a printed grocery list, proudly scratching items off as I place them in my cart.

I digress. The point being, my twenties seemed pretty well mapped out for me. There were a few curve balls thrown my way. I never imagined I would be typing this blog post as a police officer’s wife, but I wouldn’t change it for the world; and I never imagined I would graduate with a degree into one of the worst recessions since the Great Depression, but alas what doesn’t kill you only makes you stronger.

So here I sit, turning 30 tomorrow and I’m FREAKING out. I mean , what do I do in my 30s?!?! It’s like now I don’t get the choice of being an adult or a “free-spirit in her twenties”, but rather when you’re 30 you kinda need to do that thing they call “adulting.” While I drink my beer (which of course is a crafty fancy beer because I’m adulting and you don’t buy cheap beer as much), I can’t help but wonder what my 30s have in store and how appreciative I am for all the learning I did in my 20s.

I imagine working out at 30 will be about like working out a 29. whatwemeanwhenwetalkabout.tumblr.com

I imagine working out at 30 will be about like working out a 29.
whatwemeanwhenwetalkabout.tumblr.com

If I could, I would tell my 23 year-old self to get your butt off the couch. Serving on your feet all day is not the same as a good sweat in the gym. I would tell my 19 year-old self to tell the boys to go screw themselves and embrace all the things they say you should change. My 25 year-old self would get the life lesson of be who you are, not where you are. There were times in my 20s I think I wanted so badly for those around me to like me I could have been mistaken for a chameleon, shifting and changing depending on who I was surrounded by.

At 22 on my wedding day I would tell myself to breath. Enjoy every minute of walking down that aisle to your best friend and know it’s the best decision you will make in your 20s (okay getting a dog was a close second, if you knew my dog you would understand). There’s so many life moments from my 20s that have helped shape me into the person I’m starting as in my 30s.

I'm really hoping this is true!

I’m really hoping this is true!

I found a passion for working out in my 20s and as I went to a class at the YMCA for the last time tonight as a 20-something, I think it just all hit me that this is it. New decade of life ahead. As many of you are getting ready to ring in 2016 and the new hopes what a new year brings, I’m ringing in a new decade of my life.  I’m scared as hell, but I think I’m ready to embrace this transition finally (not like I have much choice).

Maybe you’re in your 20s, or you’ve crossed the threshold into your 30s, 40s, 50s, or even 60s and 70s, just remember whatever stage you’re in to enjoy life and know the next chapter is just around the corner so make the most of the one you are in. Here’s a toast to turning 30 and to a hopeful and happy 2016 for all of you!

Gotta go rinse this haircolor out! I’ll be 30 the next time you hear from me…eek!

One thought on “Toast to My Twenties

Leave a Reply

