To the Guy next to Me on the Treadmill

Dear Guy next to me on the treadmill:

I know it’s that time of year when beggars can’t be choosers in regards to the gym equipment. Everyone is still in full-on New Year’s Resolution mode and it probably won’t let up for another couple of weeks, which led you to hop on the treadmill next to me.

I’m sorry.

Yes, I was talking to myself…or rather I was a cheer section of one for myself. Yes, my hands flail when I run and as the running gets more difficult and the sweat pours buckets, I start to tap each finger to my thumb to distract myself. It’s quite possible I was the poster child for how not to run tonight.

You see, a little more than two years ago I got the bright idea of training for a half marathon. I ended up running more than I would have ever imagined and completed a half marathon with my sister (it’s not how fast you finish but that you finish right?). Unfortunately, I fell off the running band wagon, which led me to the arm flailing, breath pounding, awkward girl on the treadmill next to you.

I know you don’t know me, but I felt my behavior needed an explanation. As I pushed through the running intervals to the reward of the walk (yes, I’ve had to start all over in my training), I felt the air escaping and getting harder to find. That may have been when you looked over confused, not sure if you should hit my panic stop or find an oxygen mask for me.

I can do better. With each run, I’ve gotten better and although tonight may have not been the best example of my potential, come back in a few weeks and you’ll see. I just wanted to say sorry for the mess you endured next to you for thirty minutes on the treadmill. Hey, at least you could say “I’m doing better than that girl.”

‘Til Next Time,

Crazy girl next to you on the treadmill

It seems that running is not like riding a bicycle. If you happened to get in running shape and then slowly quit running and finally decide to start training again, just know you did it before and you can do it again.

photo-sports-persons-running-9159

It always looks better in pictures, and easier too.

It’s crazy how my body has changed over the last year as my running as slowly diminished. I still have been working out and taking various classes, but there’s just something about running that does a body good (and my college roommates can vouch that I never even considered running, and they probably wouldn’t believe you if you told them you saw me running!). You don’t have to run fast or far, but there are studies that show just running 5 minutes a day can add 3 years to your life!

working out at 30

whatwemeanwhenwetalkabout.tumblr.com

So now that I’ve convinced you to run…come on you know you want to give it a try. There are a gazillion different apps you can download to your smartphone that will help you start slow and build up to a 5k, 10k, or even half-marathon. I have used Run 5k! over the years to train. It lets you play your music and cuts into your music when you need to walk or run so you don’t have to worry about keeping time. It does a pretty good job tracking your distance when running outside and it will break down your speed and give you statistics about your run.

There are plenty of websites that offer tips on how to be a better runner. Fitsugar.com is a great website to browse and get tips if you’re looking. You can find out all the tips you ever wanted, how to refuel after, and also what stretches work great for runners.

If the health benefits aren’t enough to motivate you to run, the running shoes should be. They’re all so cute and colorful these days! If you’re just starting out running, be sure to talk to someone to find out if you have a neutral foot, or if you need a shoe for over pronation or under pronation.

You may also find yourself as that person on the treadmill huffing and puffing while telling yourself not to give up and shaking your hands in a way that resembles spirit fingers, but it will pass. Before you know it you will be gliding down the sidewalk or cranking that treadmill and not even looking back.

 

Good luck in the adventure you choose!

Leave a Reply

